Monday was the first morning in what felt like FOREVER that we were allowed to sleep in a little. We did not have out first class, so Carmen and I got up around 9 and went shopping before AND after our culinary class. I turned out to buy 2 new dresses, a super cute top, some really cute shorts, a new headband, and tons of new hair clips. I had not bought any clothes yet and its all so cute here!
In cooking class, we learned about rice and how it is used in different dishes. Then we made two types of risotto. One with a cabbagey thing that isnt in the states and carrots, and the other with Porcini mushrooms. I actually loved the first one, but did not like the mushroom one.
For dinner, Alex, Emily, Carmen, Dale and I went to the culinary school's restaurant for a free dinner, but they were booked for an hour, so we turned out to go out to a wine bar to waste time. Dale bought us 2 bottles of wine! It was a lot of fun. We finally went to the restaurant later and ate way too much.
6/1
Its June! On Tuesday, we rode a city bus to a local elementary school to see the differences in school cafeterias compared to American ones. It was absolutely amazing. The stuff these kids eat AT A PUBLIC SCHOOL would cost like $30 at a italian restaurant in the US. They told us all about how the kid's food is one of the highest priorities to schools. They get 2-3 courses, water and usually fruit for dessert. The school starts making it from the moment school starts in the morning in order to get it all done in time. They make sure every meal fits nutritional needs, etc. They also had a completely separate kitchen to make lunches for kids with special needs, allergies, etc. It was so amazing to see how much they care. Our school cafeterias make me sick!In cooking class, we learned about vegetables. Then, we made cous cous and Falafel. The falafel was time consuming, but turned out absolutely amazing!! Even Guido said they were "outstanding!" The Cous Cous was interesting, not my favorite.
For dinner, Carmen and I went to a yummy restaurant we had never tried nearby. The tables were really weird and attached, so a couple sat down literally at our table. I thought it would be really awkward at first, but they turned out to be from Holland and talked to us for a long time. They were super nice. I ordered gnocchi (I want to try all kinds!) and some wine. Carmen got a lasagne which she ordered as LASAG-NE. She soon found out they say it the same way here hahaa. We shared a salad and got an AMAZING chocolate cake for dessert!!!
6/2
Wednesday was our BIG TRIP to Cinque Terre!!!!!!! This was the trip everyone had been looking forward to the whole time. We met at 6:30 in the morning and walked to the train station. Train ride was almost 3 hours long, which I slept the whole way. Right before we got to the stop we needed (Riomaggiore) there were tunnels for about 10 minutes. Finally, when we got out, the FIRST thing we saw was the mediterranean sea! It was SO BEAUTIFUL. The WHOLE train car said AHHH all together. It was pretty funny. We got off the train, got tickets for the trail and were off! The Cinque Terre is a hike between 5 coastal towns along the mediterranean sea. It was definitely the farthest I have pushed my body in a VERY long time.
Since we were next to the sea, Carmen and I decided we had to get fish. So, we got white wine, salads, and their mixed grilled fish platter. It had mussels, octopus, calamari, swordfish, shrimp and prawn. It was definitely the most adventurous I've ever been. I ate all of it! Even Carmen was grossed out by a lot of it, but I thought a lot of it was great.
We took the train for about 5 minutes over to the final leg of the Cinque Terre where the BEACH is!!! We spent about 2-3 hours sun bathing, drinking frozen drinks and swimming in the Mediterranean Sea! A lot of people didnt want to get in because it was cold, but most did! It felt awesome! I swam around for a long time. Carmen and I got a kayak and did that for awhile. It was really fun but got kind of scary when we got too far out.
We finally got on the train home around 6 PM and rode for 3 hours home. We were completely exhausted. We got pizza to go and went straight to sleep when we got home. Definitely an AMAZING day.
"Dont make your risotta so thick that I could stucco my house with it"-Guido


